Electric Brakes on a Motorcycle Cargo/Camper Trailer?

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

guitarzan

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm thinking about a teardrop camper and I was thinking about maybe having brakes on the trailer. Does anyone have any Ideas at all. The place that makes the campers said they talked to their axle guy and he said that the trailer is light enough and doesn't recommend brakes. I know there is electric brakes and some guy wrote of a braking system that they don't make anymore, as he said that has to do with forward pressure on the tongue of the trailer and depending on the amount of pressure on the tongue more braking is applied to the trailer.

I'm new at this Idea of towing a teardrop camper or any trailer. It just seems to me that having brakes is a good way to stop jack knifing the bike and maybe rolling the bike sideways. Does anyone have any Ideas?

Thank you
Frank

The braking system you’re referring to is known as “surge” brakes. At the ball is a master cylinder, at each wheel hydraulic brakes. The system works well. I had it on a 12 foot popup trailer.

Hello,
Did you tow this trailer with a motorcycle? Am I wrong in thinking that a trailer should have brake's? Does anyone know if surge braking systems are still manufactured?

Thank you
Frank

I tow roughly 500 pounds behind my bike and do not have a problem getting it stopped. I'm not sure surge brakes would be the right application for this small of a trailer though because of the size of the system, but they are made. There are several people that have converted their trailer hubs over to an electric brake system and highly recommend it.

Re: Electric brakes on a motorcycle trailer: Not sure that is a good idea.