Clutch Slipping when it warms up

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tvilleron

Reaction score
Hi I have a issue with my clutch slipping when my bike warms up to the point it quits pulling all together. I am using Mobile 1 10w40 right now it did this beforeand I thought it might be the clutch plates but after a little riding and an oil change it started working fine now it has started again after not riding for a couple months just curious if this is a common issue since I am new to Goldwings. Thanks Ron

I'm told it's common with the hydraulic clutches. However I've not had mine hot enough yet for it to happen. Might be time to change the brake fluid on the clutch side and bleed it good.

Mobil 1 MX4T is designed for sport bikes. Most of these bikes have multi-cylinder/multi-valve engines and use a common sump, which means the engine oil lubricates the engine, transmission and wet clutch. So unlike Mobil 1 for cars, Mobil 1 MX4T has no friction modifiers, which could lead to clutch slippage.

So which do you have?

I will have to check for sure but I do know it's mc oil I tried Lucas 20w50 mc to start but it was too thick of oil so change to mobile 1 I read itwasa good oil to use and it did until I let it sit for 2 months due to weather and time but trying to get it ready to ride again

try a few ounces of synthetic automatic transmission fluid in the oil. The extra cleaners may clear the problem.