Fuel petcock

Help Support ClassicGoldWings:

D-50Dave

Well-known member
CGW Supporter
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
1,018
Reaction score
16
Location
Branford, CT
I was running low on gas on the way home from work, and waiting for it to sputter and have to switch to reserve. It never did, went way past the point I'm used to on the fuel gauge. I put over 4.4 gallons in. Is there something wrong I can fix, or does it need to be replaced? Thanx, Dave
 

D-50Dave

Well-known member
CGW Supporter
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
1,018
Reaction score
16
Location
Branford, CT
Nope. I would move it to reserve when I came to a red light (3 or 4 times in a 1/2 hr. ride) and switch it back down when leaving.
 

dan filipi

Well-known member
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
CGW Supporter
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
22,082
Reaction score
61
Location
Van Nuys Ca.
My Bike Models
1983 Interstate
2018 KLR 650
2018 BMW S1000 RR
My Bike Logs forum link
https://classicgoldwings.com/forums/dan-filipi.122/
At 4.4 gallons I think it was very close to going on reserve. On a hill it probably would have sputtered.
Only way to know for sure if reserve is working is to run it down. Could hook up an electric fuel pump at home.
More fun would be to take a full gas can along on a ride out in the country and run it down.
 

AApple

Well-known member
Administrator
Moderator
CGW Supporter
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
8,977
Reaction score
46
Location
Duncanville, Texas
My Bike Models
1981 GL1100 Innerstate("The Turd"), 1996 GL1500 Innerstate
Aboot 4.5 on my '81 it would be time to flip the lever to reserve...around 180 miles, iirc.
 

D-50Dave

Well-known member
CGW Supporter
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
1,018
Reaction score
16
Location
Branford, CT
Ok. I thought it was about 4, but I rarely let it get that low. It may have been a couple of years since I last let it "sputter".
Thanx, Dave
 
Top