Greetings from WNY

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnny42

Reaction score
Hello all,

I've been riding since 1972 when I got my first bike, a new CB350. I moved up to a new CB550K Four a few years after that. I sold that and bought my new 1983 Goldwing Interstate in 1983. My wife bought me a new VF500 Four a few years later which I sold a few years after that. All new. I've never purchased a used bike. Before kids, my wife and I would tour/camp all over New England. VT, NH, ME, CT and into New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. No hotels, just camping, and always the last 2 weeks of August to minimize heat and bugs.

I've been a solo rider my entire life. No one at school rode. No one in my neighborhood rode. None of my co-workers rode. I do prefer the solitude of riding and riding with someone would likely take me out of my comfort zone. Not that I'm a snob, it's just my circumstances.

I still ride my Wing but this year I bought a second bike, a Royal Enfield Himalayan for more adventure type riding. I've taken it to forest roads and gravel roads with a few day trips to the Allegheny National Forest in PA. I can hit back roads with less than ideal pavement condition and flick that thing around. Something I really wouldn't want to do on the Wing. Then, if I see a limited access, seasonal road, I check it out.

This year I rode down to Ohio, spent several days in a hotel and did most of the Windy 9 routes. Spectacular riding. Something there's not a lot of in Western New York where all the roads are straight and go North or South, or East or West. If I want curves, I have to ride at least 30 minutes to get to them.

Anyway, probably like many of you, I check these forums out for advice and help. I currently have an exhaust issue that I've posted and hope I can get some good solid advice/solutions.