light knocking

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
i have a '79 wing with 42k, i have been riding for about 3 months. at around 3000rpm i hear a light knocking noise after it has warmed up. i am afraid to ride it any distance for fear its a rod bearing and visions of a rod busting through the case, throwing oil all over the back tire and me and the bike sliding over a 1000 ft cliff. i am almost ready to buy a bmw :swoon:

i have been able to reduce the noise and delay it to about 3800rpm by retarding the timing about 15 degrees from stock but it runs poorly as you might expect. i'm running a dyna s ignition, synced the carbs, new timing belts, and the compression is 150lbs across the 4 cyl. i don't want to open it up because it seems main/rod bearings are nearly nonexistant. thought about a good used engine but very few gl1000 engines left and not sure if the 1100 would be an easy swap. any advice?
thanks

hmmm...the dang thing will probably knock a long time....as far as motor transplant a lot of things work ...i do stuff like this all the time...i have a 1200 going in my 79....i also have he 1000 that came out of it its a real tight motor thats never had any major issues....1100s if put in 1000 bikes make a rather low geared drag bike...83 1100 with there overdrive make for a nice geared bike ...1200s involve quite a bit of work to make them work ...but there are options out there and there are good 1000 motors out there....