Long time rider first time Gold Wing

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Motörhead

Reaction score
My Bike Models
1985 Kawasaki Concours
1975 Honda GL1000
Hello, my name is Bruce and I'm awaiting delivery of my first full dresser. I've been riding and wrenching since the 1980's, started off on a 1976 Honda CB750F in Alaska while in the Army, bought another in California, then a 1981 CB750F, a Yamaha 700 Fazer, a FZR750, and the longest held was a 1984 FJ1100 resleeved to 1314cc with a pipe and jet kit. That was a monster!

In the 90's I worked as a tech at independent shops and a dealership then moved on to vintage formula and sports cars, European imports, and high performance machine shop engine assembler and porting man.

Last year a planned ride from Houston to Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the 500 mile race on my Kawasaki Concours/GPz 1100 hybrid project fell short because I just didn't have it finished in time :(
IMG_20220302_201322~2.jpg

It runs like a scalded ape now with the 2mm ZX11 overbore, head porting, GPz cams & carbs, etc etc but probably wouldn't be a comfortable ride for 2000 miles so enter this new to me 1986 GL1200 dealership trade-in. It's yet to arrive and can't wait! Carbs are clogged and needs a battery but for $900 I can deal with it.
62f728f93667df3afa7f7b62.jpg

I'm going to search the forum for tips and tricks to make this bike a reliable runner, if anyone has suggestions I'm all ears :)

Man I feel like a kid waiting for Christmas Day to find a bike by the tree🙂
What I have planned, input appreciated:
Fork rebuild & polish
Regrease steering bearings
Clean and apply dielectric grease to handlebar controls
Lube throttle cables
Brake system rebuild (maybe delink)
Wheel inspection, clean, polish, and coat with Spray Max 2K clear
New tires
Carb service
Check fuel tank, pull and coat if rusty