My Wing History

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnny Smith

Reaction score
Another newbie here. I'm Johnnie and mainly haunt the GL1800Riders site as I have two 1800s, an '08 and a '10 Level 3 ABS both with full monte TRAXXION suspension. The yellow '10 is loaded with functional accessories for long distance riding.

My first new Wing was a '76 Red Wing which promptly got the Vetter Windjammer fairing and a rear luggage rack, home built CB radio and antenna mount and about everything else that was available for it. After the first one I knew I was hooked for life and used to delight in putting it on the center stand and put a nickle on the engine cases upright and rev the engine and show people how the coin would spin but stay standing up. Do that on a Harley of the day and that nickle would be somewhere in the next county. I quickly followed that bike with later models and when the Interstate became available, had to have one and next moved up to Aspencades. Probably had 6 or 8 wings thru 1990 and never made it to the 1500 six. In 1992 I suffered a really bad dirt bike accident and nearly lost my foot and ankle. The doctor was going to finish removing it but my wife intervened and persuaded him to try to find a good orthopedic surgeon on the weekend and get a 2nd opinion. The orthopedic surgeon said he could save it but couldn't guarantee how useful it would be. It turned out pretty well with about 60% of the motion range I had earlier and about twice the size due to the rods, screws and pins.