C5 install on 1100 with 77 cams

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pony Ruiz

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ok well I finally pulled the trigger.

Got me a C5.

I read the directions, but sometimes (often) when it comes to mech/tech/elec. stuff i've never done before, I either read too much into it, not enough or something gets lost or left out in translation. In spite of myself I have managed to do/fix things on my GL's. That is partly why I do it - to learn and learn some more. I just wish I could remember it for the next time haha. Old people.

I'd like to read up . check on a few threads where folks did this so when I do get around to it no stone is left unturned. If you have any links that would be great or I will do a seach. Is there a definitive thread or install vid?

The first thing I need to do is take out the stock cam and replace with the 77 cam I acquired.

Anything I should know/watch out for in this regard?
Thanks

Replace both cams. A number of folks have installed the C5 so if you have any questions be sure to ask and wait for the answers. Dan and Joe and wilcoy have c5 along with others. Installation is pretty straightforward. Paul has made his instructions as simple and easy as he can. Try not to over think it.

I was pretty much the same way when I first installed the C5 on my 1100 motor - I unnecessarily over-thought it. Paul's instructions are right on the money. When I installed it on the 1200, I knew better in many ways. I didn't over-think the installation but I also knew that I when it comes to installing the C5, don't skimp on the wiring.

You will not regret that purchase!!!

don't skimp on the wiring

as in? :roll:

I have a couple dumb questions (clarifications) already and I've not even started.

here's another one.