I am a lazy mechanic!

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Silverado6x6

Reaction score
Hey some of you know me and how i started with a free Goldwing this summer, and how on almost a weekly excursion at times I was bartering another motorcycle every other week until I have now 12 motorcycles. That 4 Goldwings alone. two of which are rideable, one still needing some tlc the 95 in the house for when I finish modding it and then it won't come out until spring which for Alaska may be as late as mid may or early june.

Well my wifes car had an erratic heating problem during our last cold snap last week, it was -16F and the heater blew cold air, its a 2005 Pontiac Aztek. At first I thought it was a bad radiator cap, coolant was going into the recovery tank but not returning when engine cooled down which lead to air pockets and no heat in car, replaced water pump, it was cheap and easy. Then it was dawning on me after seeing a lot of air being pumped into the coolant that I had a bad head gasket, a common problem on the 3.4 engines.

Tried a quality block sealer which was my last resort, did not work. I have about all the Snapon tools I would need and then some as I am the operations supervisor at a concrete batch plant in Alaska, one of our local members has even been to my shop.

But all this winter I have a three man crew making concrete septic tanks and so the heated shop is a bit crowded, I could work on it at another part of the site but it has minimal heat, replacing head gaskets on a V6 in this car is tight, lots of bending over and twisting engine forward.