Leaking fuel into exhuast pipe... rough idle.

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maxystaxi

Reaction score
In the past two days the 75 GL1000 was having a hard time idling. Its rough and basically dies at 1000 RPMs. At higher RPMs it seems to be steady and with the occasional misfire. I've noticed fuel leaking from the right exhaust pipe. Also Cylinder #1 is cooler to the touch than the other cylinders. I've been reading that it can be either the ignition system (coil,wire,cap) or a stuck float in carb 1. All the plugs are new and have only about 5 miles on them. I've rechecked all the gaps on the plugs (D8EA @ 0.026") as well.

What should I be looking for first? This bike is new-to-me and I'm a novice at this stuff. I also don't have a lot of test equipment or tools for bike calibrations.

Rap on carb #1 with the plastic handle of screwdriver. Turn off the fuel. Pull the plug wire from 1 and hook it to a known good plug and ground it to the block. Remove the air filter box cover and look for puddled fuel in the plenum. Fire it up and check for spark on plug one.. No fuel in plenum, good spark, hook up the plug wire and run the bike untill it sputters still with fuel off. Turn the fuel on momentarily ( a few seconds ) and run it again until it sputters then turn the fuel on and see if it smooths out and cylinder 1 gets hot.

All these issues to me point at the carb. The fact that you have fuel coming out of the exhaust points at the floats. If this bike has been sitting for any length of time its time to pull the carb rack and give it a thorough cleaning. Doesnt sound like a ignition issue, yet. Definitely a fuel delivery problem.

[url=https://classicgoldwings.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=147732#p147732:1vciczvf said:
slabghost » Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:36 am[/url]":1vciczvf]