Hi I'm another new old guy!!

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thewhiterhino

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I am new to the forum and new to goldwings. I recently traded a car for my 1983 Aspencade.
It has 69,000 miles on it and needs some attention, but is in good shape for a 26 year old bike.

In the past I have had many bikes starting in 1960. Ducati, Suzuki, Triumph 650, Triumph 500, Kawasaki 500 Mach III, BMW R75/7 and in 1992 I went bike-less until now.

I have been a mechanic/repairman/handyman my whole life and so will do the fix-up myself.

I have no idea about what has been done in the past so would like to take appropriate measures to ensure reliability and safety.

How long should the belts and water pump last?
How about a good source for fuel lines and brake lines?

It is good to find a forum of classic guys riding classic goldwings.

I'm new here too , but I'd like to welcome you to the group , It' so nice to chat with folks who have some of the same ideas as we do. Hope to read your posts , and maybe even meet some of you folks sometime. again Welcome to the group.

Welcome to the CGW Forums, Ross!! :clapping: :clapping: :clapping:
If you don't have a history on the 'Wing, it is suggested to change the timing belts right off, since ya never know when they may fail, especially if they've not been changed. Some suggest doing the water pump at the same time, and it's a good idea to do that. At 69,000, it would be wise to get those things done. ;)
There were some threads on parts suppliers, but they got lost in the "crash". Members are posting those links/info back now, so there should be some good leads on parts in the "Vendor" forum.

Welcome to Classic Goldwings, and enjoy the ride! :mrgreen:

Welcome Ross.

Yes do the belts. This engine is zero interference so if a belt brakes the result is never pretty.