New guy, just bought my second "old-wing".

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AKsoldier

Reaction score
Howdy fellow Goldwing owners! I have been riding motorcycles for about 15 years, with around 8 bikes and well passed the north end of 100K miles under my belt on two wheels so far. All of my bikes have been either Honda or Yamaha models. I've owned one other Goldwing - a 1976 GL1000 standard. I've also had two 1980 CX 500 Customs, one of which was my first bike, and the other I rode over 8K miles last summer here in Alaska.

Summer is again around the corner, and I couldn't pass up a deal on a pristine '78 GL1000 for my summer ride this year. It has only 16K miles, and is refurbished and ready to go. I can't wait for the snow to melt so I can get her on the road.

My only question - I would like to get the factory hard bags, or a suitable aftermarket set. What range of model years are interchangeable with the '78, and if aftermarket is a better option - what do you all suggest?

Thanks, and I'm looking forward to learning about my 'wing!

(Duplicate Thread merged/duplicate post deleted--AApple)

Welcome to the CGW Forums, AKsoldier!!! :clapping: :clapping: :clapping:

Thanks guys! Time to browse e-bay a bit for some Vetter bags. Any other places I should be looking?

Watch here in the For Sale section. Craigslist and your local papers. Where ever you find them it will be best if they are close enough to pick up. Shipping will be pricey. OTOH Throw over soft bags and a luggage rack works too.

slabghost":1c845wr5 said:
OTOH Throw over soft bags and a luggage rack works too.

slabghost - I actually have some soft bags that came with the bike. The previous owner couldn't figure out how to keep them away from the rear tire. I think I can figure it out, especially if I have a luggage rack. Any ideas where I can find a rack that will fit on my bike?