Low compression, could it be valves?

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldmopars

Reaction score
Well, my 82 GL1100I was running good I thought, then I replaced a cam seal and in my stupid rush I did not notice that I had the right cam off one tooth and I bent a valve. Yes I know better, not my first rodeo and I got cocky and screwed up.
However I wanted to verify before pulling the heads off so I did a compression test and found that I had 0 on the right as I thought and 90 psi on the left.
I was thinking that it should be around 125-130 (- the 2 with bent valves). So I pulled the head off the right side to fix it and the engine looks very good. There is still very strong cross-hatch in those cylinders. So I pulled the "good" side with only 90 psi and it looks the same. Very strong cross hatch almost like a new engine.
Now I have been a mechanic for over 20 years and rebuilt many engines, I know what cylinders look like with fresh cross-hatch and what worn out looks like where you see a few stray lines, but mostly smooth and shiny. These are like a fresh engine.
This lead me to look at the valves/head and head gasket. I found no breaks or leaks in the head gasket, everything looks good.
I poured some carb cleaner in the head and found that it ran out of one of the intake and exhaust valves, but only on one cylinder. I may have to do it again as I did it rather quick and ghetto.
So, 2 things. First it was good in a way that I screwed up and bent a valve, now I know that I have had at least one valve leaking and now I can fix it and redo the others.
Now, why? Is there something I can do to prevent this, valve leaks from happening again? The bike has 82K miles and seemed to run ok, but I have not had it long and have never had another Goldwing. Nothing to compare it to.