Rear brake woes gl1100

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

derrick woods

Supporting Member
Reaction score
My Bike Models
Gl1000
I've been a motorcycle mechanic for a long long time and I have to say I absolutely despise the 81 gl1100 brakes they have to be the single worse brakes I've ever dealt with. With that being said I need some help with rear brake it drags drags drags. No matter how many parts replaced I done new kl master cylinder rebuild cleaned all orifices bore polished return port clean main port cleaned. Brannew stainless braided brake line new caliper rebuild with new piston kl brand caliper cleaned bore polished I don't know where else to go or do

The most common reason the '80-'81 rear brakes drag is due to the return port not being open. Not always a matter of cleaning (looks like you did that), it is often the pedal is not adjusted correctly often due to the bushing in the pedal being sticky. If the pedal is even dropped a touch, the return port will not let the brake fluid back to the MC causing them to drag. Simple test, press the pedal with your hand and check resistance. There should be none other than from the return spring. The pedal should move very easily.

The most common reason the '80-'81 rear brakes drag is due to the return port not being open. Not always a matter of cleaning (looks like you did that), it is often the pedal is not adjusted correctly often due to the bushing in the pedal being sticky. If the pedal is even dropped a touch, the return port will not let the brake fluid back to the MC causing them to drag. Simple test, press the pedal with your hand and check resistance. There should be none other than from the return spring. The pedal should move very easily.