Tire changing

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rryman

Reaction score
I just changed the front tire on my 250 Reflex, and installed Dyna-Beads instead of wheel weights. I have taken the tire off before, using other tools, but the three iron set and rim protectors I got from Motion Pro are definitely worth the money if you're going to do much of this. Made the job much easier. Lubricating the tire bead also helps. Don't know what they use in the shops, but being an electrician, I used what I had available, wire pulling lube. Worked just fine. I suppose a number of other things would work equally well just so they are safe for rubber.
Tip on installing the Dyna Beads: After putting on the new tire and inflating it to seat it to the rims, let the air out and put the beads in through the valve (valve core removed, of course) VERY slowly. I tried it too fast at first and they got clogged up down in the valve stem. Putting them in slower did the trick. Haven't done a check ride to see how the Dyna Beads work yet due to our current weather conditions.
Almost all of the reports on Dyna Beads I've read have been positive.
Randy

Dyna Beads???
Forgive my ignorance...what the heck are they? Apparently some sort of tire balancing thingys? I'm intrigued... :read:

Its not just you AApple, I have no clue what they are either, :fiddle: I learned how to change tires by hand for Semi's at tech school about 8 years ago and didnt learn anything bout them