Cylinder head port designs

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dan filipi

Staff member
Administrator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
My Bike Models
1983 Interstate
2018 KLR 650
2018 BMW S1000 RR
My Bike Logs forum link
https://classicgoldwings.com/forums/dan-filipi.122/
I'm trying to learn myself about head porting.

I'm an electrician so for me I think of flows like water in a pipe, larger wire and water pipe allows more current and water volume and flow.

With that sense in mind when I look at the 1200 ports, both intake and exhaust, they are smaller than the earlier heads and so are the valves.
It seems to me (since air is a fluid like water) that a smaller port will let less volume flow through it which means a smaller fuel/air charge can enter and is more restrictive in it's discharge.

Is this the case or am I missing something?

Bigger is NOT always better(says the guy in Texas!).
It's not simply a matter of volume...it has to do with velocity. Smaller ports can raise the velocity of the air/fuel going into the cylinder, creating a ram effect of sorts. This will also help with fill volume, since the air/fuel mixture going thu the ports of the head accelerate quicker, bringing more volume in, without an increase in stroke, or depending fully on piston speed, valve lift or size, to fill the chamber. Works really well for low end torque, and fuel efficiency, but it does tend to hamper high rpm performance to some degree.
That's about as tech as I can get. It's a lot more involved, tho. I'm sure someone here has more knowledge of fluid dynamics than I do :read: