Dynatek

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike Smith

Reaction score
I have been having a bitch of as time with the Dynatek ignition system.
I installed new coils, wires and magnetic pickup module. After carefully installing everything I hit the starter button and the engine fired and died. Several attempts and nothing. Went over the wiring 6 times and couldnt find anything wrong. Called Larry at the customer support and he said I had to static time the module. So I bought a normally off continuity tester and went to work. I could not get the thing timed. Couldn't get continuity. I carefully set the timing mark in the window to F 1 and rotated the plate in both directions and I could not get continuity. Could be a bad module I guess.
Im no genius but I am an Air Conditioning tech and I know something about electrical and wiring. Anybody out there have any experience with this problem? I made the mistake of NOT ordering the module straight from the Dynatek. Got it on Ebay.
Please do not post a bunch of guesswork. Im done guessing what I have not correctly done for the past 4 days.
By the way the coil installation is a pain in the azz. It's a real good idea to replace the original weak ignition coils with better made coils from non OEM coils. The original Honda coils ohm out at over 13 ohms. The Honda resister ohm out at 3 ohms. The Dynatek coils ohm out at 3 ohms. Pricey at $125 for the pair they will not let you down on hot day when the temperature exceeds 100 degrees.

Continuity tester=test light?? I use a plain old 12v light. Plug it into the appropriate wire, blue or yellow, ground it, turn motor over until it lights. Any chance your plate is not getting grounded to the engine? I hope you have the newer version as the older DynaS had a lot of failures recently. Good how-to here:https://www.ngwclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5720