Front Brakes locking

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ron1YY

Reaction score
Hi, I'm restoring an 81 and seem to be having an issue. Everytime I pump the front brakes, the calipers don't release and it locks the front wheel. I just bought used calipers and they are doing the same thing. I got a used master cylinder, but it leaks Very Badly every time P squeeze the lever.

Can someone chime in and point me in the right direction please?

Thanks,
Ron

SHould I get a rebuild kit for the FMC that I got used the is leaking ? I doubt that this is the right one for the bike.

at this point id a least try and find the right one ...this would have been okay maybe if it was good ...but its not id at least look for one on ebay or a salvage yard if ones around you....it might be good and cost the same or less than rebuild kit ....and it would be the right one

I bought one that is the right one for an 80-83 but when I installed it and squeezed the brake, it leaked from everywhere.

Ron1YY":1ewpt8lu said:
I bought one that is the right one for an 80-83 but when I installed it and squeezed the brake, it leaked from everywhere.
There is not a standard FMC for 80-83, '80-'81 have single piston calipers, '82-'83 have dual piston calipers and '83 has linked brakes with the back. The '80-'82 FMC will work but are not exactly interchangable....they have different covers and bolts patterns. Hydraulically, '80 thru '82 are the same.

If it leaked from everywhere, it needs to be rebulit. (Fairly easy task)