Hello from South Lyon, MI (near Detroit)

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdbauer1962

Reaction score
Hello from the Motor City of Michigan !!! Thanks to Dan for this GL1100 forum !! I have a 1980 GL1100 w/Vetter package that I "rescued" from a barn 3 years ago. I am 48 years old, a father of three, happily married (most of the time :lol: ), and a lifetime motorcyclist, starting with minibikes at age 10, then dirtbikes, then streetbikes. They have been a mix of Honda's, Kawasaki's, and Suzukis. No Harleys yet !! I took about 12 years off, and got back into the sport three years ago. I specifically searched out a 1980 Goldwing since this was the year I graduated from High School, and bought my first "big" bike, a 1978 CB750K. I drooled over the 1980 Interstate back then, but had no budget for it at 18! I kept my 750 for about eight years, and then went through a bunch of bikes in the late 80's/early 90's with a mix of 550's, 650's, on up to a crazy fast KZ1000. I even owned a big Kawasaki 6-cyl 1300 cruiser for a couple months, but the bike was simply too big and heavy.

Then, I got married and rode on 4 wheels. Car seat's and bikes don't work well up in the upper midwest!!!

I am excited to be back in the saddle. I visit the NGW and Saunders sites and am happy to help anyone out with the little knowlege I have gained bring my GL back to life. If anyone in the Detroit area ever needs help or wants to ride, let me know !!!!

Mark Bauer

Let me be the first to welcome you to the CGW forums!

That's a nice story of your riding history.

Kawasaki sure did some wild stuff. I had a 3 cyl 2 stroke 500. Boy was that thing ever unpredictable the way it would launch once you found it's sweet spot in rpms! Fun bike.

dan filipi":1zsafhd4 said:
Let me be the first to welcome you to the CGW forums!

That's a nice story of your riding history.