it looks Bad ,

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sledge

Reaction score
as some of you folks know I have been building a Trike , from a 1980 GL1100 Goldwing , for the last 2 or 3 years . I got side tracked along the way somewhat , wife has been really sick , and I bought a 1983 Aspencade to ride some , while I finished the Trike . well a few days ago , I started on the Trike again , after sitting for almost 2 years , I charged the Battery , squirted a little starting fluid in the breather , and she fired right up , and Ran just as good as it always did. I rode it what I call ( around the block ) out here in the sticks where I live thats about 11 miles . all was well.... everything just like it was last time i rode it... then Today , I started it , rode it up across my yard and into my Neighbors yard , about 1/4 mile , turned it off in her driveway , and sit and talked to her a few minutes , went back to the bike turned the key on , pushed the starter button , it turned about one revolution , and locked down ! at first i thought maybe it had a Carb stuck open , and filled the piston hole full of Gas. but I pushed it a few feet in her driveway , and it started down hill , I clutched it and it will just slide the rear tires ......... soooo , my question is... do you guys think it could be the Starter Chain maybe broke , and locked the motor down ??? or something to do with the Starter ??? since it happened while I was Starting the bike ???? in my life I'm sure I have owned 40 or more Bikes , and I have NEVER owned a Japanese bike that ever had an engine to lock down before. just hard for me to believe the Eng. just Locked down like that , while Starting it. :help: