New member and my first Goldwing

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aslatk

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Got a good deal on a Goldwing. No spark with about 30,000 miles. Always wanted a Goldwing. Hope to diagnose the problem this weekend. Shouldn't be a problem. My first bike was a Honda S90. That was about 42 years ago. How time flies by. Glad to find this forum!

Welcome to the CGW Forums, aslatk!!! :clapping: :clapping: :clapping:
You'll find plenty of help here! :good:

dan filipi":elfs0g04 said:
No spark should be an easy deal to track down.

Welcome to the forums and post a pic in the Gallery.
I see your from Reseda? I went to Reseda High School. Graduated Summer !970. Are you an ex "Regent"? I live in Stockton, CA. now. I'm an automotive instructor in the Bay area.

carl62cycles":1ess1t9o said:
Welcome!!!!.........What year is your bike???????
1980 GL1100i. First thing I'm going to do is clean all connections (no spark). Haven't checked voltages to and from ignition components yet but ready to do so. Got a good deal on the bike and also just bought a factory service manual for about $11. plus $5 for shipping. The wiring diagrams are a blessing for sure.

Check the fuses and kill switch. Post up some pictures when you can. If you start a thread with known problems and symptoms I'm sure you'll get some help.

were here to help get the wings a flapping on this 80 wing .....these old ignition can be hard to chase as they tend to check out fine but still give problems ....as slabghost said start a thread ....1980I winter project....and post your work and outcomes as you go .....ive done several projects on this forum commenting along the way and have gotten lots of ideals and help and info placed by others in my threads that have made projects forum inspired and we all like to see another old wing back on the road :mrgreen:

:clapping: