starting problem?

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sgq700

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Howdy, 76 gl 1000 and will start right up and stop as soon as i let off the start button? Hold the start button in and runs/revs up clean untill you release the button? all stock except a dyna unit and resistor. Any one ever have this problem? I am new to wings and just love the old 1000's Thank's Much if someone has a idea what could be the problem.

check the resistor (mounted on the coil) and the wires going to it. In run voltage goes thru that resistor, in start the resistor is bypassed.

[url=https://www.classicgoldwings.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=103109#p103109:98g7i2wn said:
roncar » Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:05 am[/url]":98g7i2wn]
check the resistor (mounted on the coil) and the wires going to it. In run voltage goes thru that resistor, in start the resistor is bypassed.
+1

[url=https://www.classicgoldwings.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=103113#p103113:1izzcoyg said:
dan filipi » Sat Nov 16, 2013 8:41 am[/url]":1izzcoyg]
Could temporarily bypass that resistor an see if it runs.
Wire jumper across end to end of the resistor.
I don't know what the resistance value ohmage should be to test it.
Just as a test as the coil will overheat with 12 volt continuously.
A test light is your friend as there will not be any voltage on the coil side, just make sure that you have voltage on the ignition side as it could be a fault in that circuit. Most commonly it is a faulty ballast resistor