Trike Build Question

Classic Goldwings

Help Support Classic Goldwings:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

charles franz

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have a question, If we are looking at the back of a trike with a Mustang rear end, and we are going up the road and hit a deep pot hole with the right rear wheel, the right side goes down and the left stays level, the swing arm is standard, what part gives? The shock will give to the upper part of the frame, I do not under stand what gives, There are only two swing arm bearings that hold all of the stress, but are not designed for the independit horizontal movement, Will this cause a stress crack in one of the weakest areas of the build? I am not a mechanical eng. Seems like an awful lot of stress on two swing arm bearings? Just saying, Welding all the frame work for the axle to the thin swingarm, seems like there is something else could be done in this area. In the best world it wood be to use the independit rear axle, but many have used the Mustang axle, Have you folks that have done this, had any problems in this area? Thanks Charlie in NC

Not really sure how this thing is attached to the bike, but if you're talking about a live/solid axle diff, if one side moves...the other side has to move also. Are there pics of this set-up? :headscratch:

I think some builders use a type of independent suspension... the Volkswagen transaxle is one... no dye what California sidecar doors.. some homebuilt trikes don't and they get some bounce because of the solid setup.
Not speaking a definite fact here.. revenge this was started as "I think..." lol

Isn't a Mustang rear supported by leaf springs?
In which case there isn't any 'swingarm' I'm aware of.
Maybe I'm not understanding the question. Wouldn't be the first time. :Doh2:

[url=https://www.classicgoldwings.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=113205#p113205:8fxyg1p7 said: